The Wayfarer's Creed

Then maybe kids in school could pray…

Posted on: 20 March 2007

OK, I absolutely love the Christian band Casting Crowns. The music they play is excellent and the words to the songs are often very thought provoking, and they are definitely not superficial as so many are. However, whenever I listen to them it is inevitable that I here their song “What If His People prayed.” While I find most of the song to be perfectly fine, there is just one line that always assaults me when I hear it. It is the title of this post, “then maybe kids in school could pray.”

Why is it that Christians so often obsess over this? Do they really think that a group prayer in the public schools is really going to do anybody any good? This type of attitude just makes my brothers and sisters in Christ look foolish. We live in a diverse society, a post-Christian society. Why would we have prayer to a God that 90% of the class does not revere? School prayer just does not make any sense in our society. Actually, I believe that this would probably be detrimental to the Church. I think that one of the worst things to ever happen to the Church was when Constantine brought it into the public life of the Roman Empire. The message of the King was completely distorted when the institution of the Church was Romanized. I see this same sort of problem when the Church is Americanized, something that is very likely to happen when prayer is uttered in the school. It becomes a civic Christianity, the type of Christianity that is nothing more than whatever supports the actions of the community at large.

today's prayer in school

Cartoon courtesy of SkepticTank.org

Of course, if any prayer were to be introduced in today’s schools I’m not so sure it would be Christian prayer, and then of course the religious nuts would still be complaining about it.

6 Responses to "Then maybe kids in school could pray…"

[…] Mar 22nd, 2007 by the Wayfarer I found I rather telling comic about God and society.  Would have gone well with my post on school prayer. […]

That cartoon is apt! You make some excellent points. Particularly:

I see this same sort of problem when the Church is Americanized, something that is very likely to happen when prayer is uttered in the school. It becomes a civic Christianity, the type of Christianity that is nothing more than whatever supports the actions of the community at large.

This is similar to what we have now in Britain. Brits may tolerate (encourage?) eccentricity, but we Brits are far less extreme and much more low-key about religious issues than we Americans, so I tend to agree with your stance here.

I think that prayer really does need to be in schools. How could you be a christian and not believe prayer works. If I didnt pray, even at school, I couldnt make it. The Bible says that we should pray, anytime, anywhere. I strongly believe that, and I admit I need to pray more than I do. But I thought I would put in my opinion and would love to get some others. Thanks
Camilla

I absolutely do believe that prayer “works”. Christians ought to be praying continuously. But what I’m talking about here is not personal, but public prayer. Having a school-sponsored public prayer is imposing on others who don’t feel that this is doing anything, either because they believe that there is no god, or that the prayer is being prayed to a false god.

I think that as long as we can still pray to ourselves at school that we don’t need to debate. Prayer can go on inside someone’ s mind. And I have taken a survey and most of the kids at school are not offended by the ‘moment of silence.’ Hey, they can pray to their Science book for all I care! But I know that my prayers are heard by a God so much bigger that me. And I am encouraged by that.

By the way, Casting Crowns is awesome!!!

Hey! I’m not an American resident, but I thought I’d comment anyway :).

I believe in prayer. I believe that it works, and is the best way to have an influence in today’s society. The Bible tells us that we, because God sent His Son to DIE for us, we can pray anywhere we like, at any time and in every language. With that said, I can’t, as a Christian, support the idea of consciusly keeping prayer out of school. I often pray when I’m at school, for my friends, the teachers and what else comes to mind.
I’m not sure I could’ve gotten through an average day without the help of my designer, accomplice and best friend.

Casting Crowns are one of my favorite bands!! 😀

Leave a Reply

  • None

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

