The Wayfarer's Creed

Some Queer Assumptions

Posted on: 26 September 2007

When reading someone’s writings on an issue as divisive as this often is, I wanted to make sure I have laid down as much as I can, so that people can better understand where I am coming from. But first of all, I want to make clear my intentions and meaning behind the word “queer” in the title of this post, because for some this is a derogatory term. In no way whatsoever is my usage in that manner. Instead it is used in the redeemed manner of the word to basically refer to the LGBT community, eliminating the cumbersome and potentially narrow nature of the acronym. Or perhaps in the manner of “queer theory.”

Coming from the Evangelical/Wesleyan tradition, how I was always told to intrepret Scriptures was that homosexuality was a sin. Though it was not talked about as often as in some circles of conservative Christianity, this “lifestyle” was always talked about with derision. And for most of my life I heard nothing different.

At this point, however, I can honestly say that I have no opinion on the matter. I now see it as a very complex matter that I cannot answer without much research. But because of my background, I am more likely to fall back on that position as a default. This is for no more reason than I have not figured it out myself yet. But as I am someone who has to figure things out for himself, I am not leaving the matter at that and have decided that if there is injustice in the Church because of an incorrect interpretation, then I cannot just ignore it and move on. I must struggle with the issue. And to be honest, I would very much like to be persuaded from the sin idea. As part of my Christian love, I ought not to wish for condemnation of others, but pray that there might be no offense against God at all. And let us all approach this with grace, the Shalom that God has given us.

Leave a Reply

    Archives

    Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2 other followers

