The Wayfarer's Creed

life is a garden…

Posted on: 11 September 2009

l ife is a garden,
not a road
we enter and exit
through the same gate
wandering,
where we go matters less
than what we notice
Bokonon

http://www.panhala.net/Archive/Life_Is.html

Not sure who actually came up with this, since Bokonon is the fictional religion developed by Kurt Vonnegut, but I have to say that I really like the image.  The road and the journey are often symbols of spiritual life, ones that I often invoke.  But I feel that the journey is just as important as the destination.  Much of popular contemporary Christianity is devoted to being saved.  In other words, the only thing that matters is the eternal life guaranteed to us at the end of the journey.  I haven’t believed this though for quite some time now.  And I feel like this wise image might be a better way to express what life is, not a journey but a garden.

1 Response to "life is a garden…"

[…] Life is a Garden by Bokonon […]

Leave a comment


  • None

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other subscribers